The Grolman Bastion was made by Ernst Ludwig von Aster as part of the fortifications of Königsberg and got its name in honor of the reformer of the Prussian army, General Karl von Grolmann. The construction of the bastion was carried out from 1851 to 1860.
The Grolman Bastion is the largest bastion of the Grolman Upper Front. It includes: a horseshoe-shaped reduite with a courtyard space for sheltering personnel, an earthen rampart, a caponier, two half-caponiers, two casemates of the gorzha part, an entrance gate and a bridgehead. Presumably, the bastion was connected by an underground passage with the Kronprinz barracks.
In April 1945, the command post of the 367th Infantry Division of the Wehrmacht was located in the bastion. During the assault on Konigsberg, the fortifications suffered significant damage. On April 10, 1945, the bastion came under the command of the Red Army.
In the post-war period, the buildings of the bastion were used as warehouses and workshops. According to the decree of the Government of the Kaliningrad region dated March 23, 2007 No. 132, the bastion is a monument of urban planning and architecture of regional significance.
The stunning photos of an abandoned Grolman Bastion in Kaliningrad were taken by Andrey Novozhilov. Andrey Novozhilov is a professional photographer, who shares his stories with followers.
If you’d like to see more abandoned places and shipwreck, then check out our articles on the Soviet Ships Graveyard in Perm, Russia and the Photos of Moscow abandoned factory and sunken ships